About Us

District Contact Information

Baker Williams Matthiesen LLP
5005 Woodway Dr., Suite 201
Houston, TX 77056

Attorney: JoAnn Matthiesen
Paralegal: Teresa Menacho
Phone: (713) 888-3535
Email: Teresa@bwmtx.com

District Profile

Northwest Harris County Municipal Utility District No. 22 (the “District”) was created on July 3, 1979, by order of the Texas Water Rights Commission, now the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (the “TCEQ”), and operates under the provisions of Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas Water Code and other general statutes applicable to municipal utility districts. The District is located wholly within the exclusive extraterritorial jurisdiction of the City of Houston, Texas.

What Does The District Do?

The District is empowered, among other things, to purchase, construct, operate and maintain all works, improvements, facilities and plants necessary for:

  • the supply and distribution of water;
  • the collection, transportation, and treatment of wastewater; and
  • the control and diversion of stormwater.

The District may issue bonds and other forms of indebtedness to purchase or construct such facilities. The District is also empowered to establish, operate, and maintain fire-fighting facilities, independently or with one or more conservation and reclamation districts, after approval by the City of Houston, the Commission and the voters of the District.

Who Regulates The District?

The TCEQ exercises continuing supervisory jurisdiction over the District. The District is required to observe certain requirements of the City of Houston which limit the purposes for which the District may sell bonds to the acquisition, construction and improvement of waterworks, wastewater, and drainage facilities and the refunding of outstanding debt obligations; limit the net effective interest rate on such bonds and other terms of such bonds; and require approval by the City of Houston of District construction plans. Construction and operation of the District’s drainage system are subject to the regulatory jurisdiction of additional government agencies, including the TCEQ.

The District is within the boundaries of the Harris-Galveston Coastal Subsidence District (the “Subsidence District”) which regulates groundwater withdrawal. The District’s authority to pump groundwater from its well is subject to an annual permit issued by the Subsidence District. On April 14, 1999, the Subsidence District adopted a District Regulatory Plan (the “1999 Plan”) to reduce groundwater withdrawal through conversion to surface water in areas within the Subsidence District’s jurisdiction. Under the 1999 Plan, the District was required to adopt a groundwater reduction plan approved by the Subsidence District, construct surface water conversion infrastructure, and reduce its groundwater pumpage.

District Map

(Click Here For PDF Version)

Board Members

The District is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of five (5) Board members elected by the registered voters of the District, who manage and supervise all affairs of the District. Board members must either own property within the District or be a registered voter within the District. Each Board member is elected to serve a staggered four (4) year term. The District’s current Board members are as follows:

  • Anthony Sidney, President, Term Expires: May 2028
  • Lott Johnson, Vice-President, Term Expires: May 2028
  • Garry Smith, Secretary, Term Expires: May 2026
  • Debora Whitehead, Assistant Secretary, Term Expires: May 2026
  • Sharon Chambers, Director, Term Expires: May 2026



Baker Williams Matthiesen LLP
5005 Woodway Dr., Suite 201
Houston, TX 77056

Attorney: JoAnn Matthiesen
Paralegal: Teresa Menacho
Phone: (713) 888-3535


h2o Innovation
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1209
Spring, TX 77383-1209
Physical Address: 2200 Sciaaca Rd.
Spring, TX 77373

Contact: Howard Wilhite
Phone: (281) 353-9756


Myrtle Cruz, Inc.
3401 Louisiana St., Suite 400
Houston, TX 77002

Contact: Christina Cole
Phone: (713) 759-1368

Financial Advisor

Masterson Advisors, LLC
4400 Post Oak Parkway, Suite 2370
Houston, TX 77027

Contact: Drew Masterson
Phone: (713) 814-0550


JNS Engineers, LLC
722 Pin Oak Rd., Suite 202A
Katy, TX 77494

Contact: Jon Strange
Phone: (281) 391-3366

Tax Assessor/Collector

Bob Leared Interests
11111 Katy Fwy, Suite 725
Houston, TX 77079

Contact: Brenda McLaughlin/Patty Rodriguez
Phone: (713) 932-9011


McCall Gibson Swedlund Barfoot PLLC
13100 Wortham Center Dr., Suite 235
Houston, TX 77065

Contact: Debbie Gibson
Phone: (713) 462-0341

Delinquent Tax Attorney

Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins & Mott LLP
1235 North Loop West, Suite 500
Houston. TX 77008

Contact: Donald B. Roseman
Phone: (713) 862-1860

Website Design/Communications

Infinity Services, LLC
23501 Cinco Ranch Blvd,
Suite H120-330
Katy, TX 77494
Contact: Allen DeJonge
Phone: (573) 268-9577